Que Sera, Sera: Redbridge FC v Waltham Forest FC 6 August 2016 FA Cup Extra Preliminary Round

A third game in 3 days saw me watching the FA Cup Extra Preliminary Round tie at Oakfield Stadium , Barkingside between Redbridge FC and Waltham Forest FC.

20160806_143806_HDR

Redbridge were relegated last season from the Rymans League Div 1 North to the Essex Senior League and will play this season at the 9th level of English football. THeir opponents are still in the Rymans League Div 1 North ( level 8).

Arriving at the ground and parking in the free car park at the ground, the signs proclaimed that it was  £8 for admission. That includes the programme as well. Excellent value.

I arrived on a hot summer’s afternoon about 15 minutes before kick off, so I sat and had a read of the programme. The first page was a piece from the manger(s) which set out the plight of the club. The majority of last season’s first team squad left owing to not wanting to drop a level or due to work commitments. The pre season games largely featured trialists. Elsewhere in the programme there is reference to other sides in the Essex Senior League having a budget!  Finally the managerial team remind fans that they have never won an FA Cup tie since taking over at Redbridge! Perhaps I had picked the wrong game to attend.

This was Redbridge’s first home game of the season, and a chance to blow the cobwebs away – literally. There were cobwebs growing across the seats!

20160806_145752_HDR20160806_145803_HDR

The game started before a relatively sparse crowd ( That sadly is the norm for Redbridge) and it was not long before Waltham Forest were 1 up, then 2 up, then 3 up.

The game was played on a very hot afternoon, and in both halves, the referee allowed a break for players to take on fluids. I went to the toilet just before half time and missed Waltham Forest’s 4th goal. Indeed, I was not aware they had scored a 4th until Saturday night!

One of the plus points about a visit to Redbridge is the chance to visit the excellent tea bar. The chips at £1.20 a portion were excellent value and freshly cooked to order. The food generally at non league grounds is far better quality and value than that served up higher up the pyramid.
20160806_145353_HDR

The second half was similar to the first with Waltham Forest easily being on top. Redbridge pulled on back from the penalty spot late on to make it 4-1, or as I believed and tweeted 3-1. This did not last long as Waltham Forest scored again.

In the last 5 minutes , the referee stopped the game and spoke to the Waltham Forest bench and then sent off one of their coaching staff for foul language. I have no issue with that decision, but what happened next I think was wrong. The Waltham Forest coach left the technical area and went to the stand. The referee refused to restart the game until said official was in dressing room. The referee told him that he was not allowed to watch the game. Unless there has been a rule change, the referee does not have the power to do more than order someone from the technical area. They are allowed to watch from the stand. It is different with a player.
That was the highlight of an easy win for Waltham Forest. It is going to be a long season for Redbridge. It is a shame, because their players put effort into the game. Indeed they played with far more effort and passion even when 4-0 down than Newcastle did the previous evening at 1-0 down.

20160806_145859_HDR20160806_145542_HDR20160806_145859_HDR20160806_145533_HDR20160806_145518_Pano20160806_144418_HDR

Photographs from the day can be seen online at https://www.flickr.com/photos/spen666/sets/72157669097459684

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Spen

I'm a 50 something football fan and occasional cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds previously. I have 1 left to rejoin the 92 club. Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I now am one of the organising committee for the UK Police Unity Tour (www.ukpoliceunitytour.org ) I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in Essex Senior League, FA Cup, Rymans League. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Que Sera, Sera: Redbridge FC v Waltham Forest FC 6 August 2016 FA Cup Extra Preliminary Round

  1. Pingback: Monday Night Football is a Live Game, Not a TV Programme: Barkingside FC v Redbridge FC: Essex Senior League: 15 August 2016 | The Beautiful Game?

Leave a comment